Church Monuments Society

Our people

You can contact officers using the contact form. Messages for other Members of Council and all general enquiries should be addressed to the Hon Secretary.

We are currently looking for a new co-editor for our journal, Church Monuments. This is a great way to become more involved with the work of the Society. More details at .

HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG GCVO


Moira Ackers


Miss Sally Badham MBE, FSA

Vice President

Dr Sophie Oosterwijk MA, MA, PhD, PhD, FSA

Vice President

Jean Wilson PhD MBE FSA

Vice President

Dr Julian W S Litten PhD, Hon Dart, FSA, FSA Scot

Vice President

Miss Hilary Wheeler BA, MA


Mr Jonathan Trigg BA(Hons), MA FSA Scot

Journal Editor

Mr Jon Dawson


Mrs Claire Downing

Membership Secretary

Dr Andrew R Sargent MA, PhD

Newsletter Editor

Dr Ellie Pridgeon, BA, MA, PhD, Arch. Dip.


Dr Elizabeth Blood

Events Co-ordinator

Dr David Carrington BSc, MA, D Phil, ACR

Conservation Cases Recorder

Prof Madeleine Gray

Publicity Officer

Ann Adams, MA, PHD, FSA

Joint Editor

Ann Adams will be seeing vol. 38 of the Journal through production as co-editor. After that, she will be stepping down. The Society is very grateful to her for her work on this and the previous volumes.

Ordinary Members of Council

Dr Roger Bowdler
Mrs Moira Gittos
Dr Susan Jenkins
Andrew Skelton
Michael Thompson
Dr Holly Trusted


Moira Ackers
David Carrington
Jon Dawson
Brian Gittos
Hilary Wheeler
Jean Wilson